Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Ian Max Møller receives ASPB award

Ian Max Møller has received the Corresponding Membership Award of the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB).

2017.08.09 | Lisbeth Heilesen

Ian Max Møller

The award is given with the following motivation: Max has made seminal discoveries in the enzymology, metabolism and stress reactions of plant mitochondria, and he has made outstanding contributions to advancing our understanding of the physiology of plant mitochondria.  Max has published more than 200 peer reviewed papers in the leading journals and his papers are highly cited. Max has been an editor with Physiologia Plantarum since 1981 including stints as managing editor and editor-in-chief. Max has been a principal in many congresses and meetings, often as a plenary speaker and also as an organizer. Max has been an ASPB member for 30 years, and he is a frequent attendee at ASPB annual meetings, and he has served the field of plant biology in a dedicated and professional manner for many years.

About ASPB and the award

American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) is a professional society devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences. It publishes two world-class journals and organizes conferences, and other activities that are key to the advancement of the science.

The corresponding memberships award is an honor, initially given in 1932, which provides life membership and Society publications to distinguished plant biologists from outside the United States. The honor is conferred by election on the annual ballot. The committee selects no more than three (3) candidates, and these are placed on the ballot for approval of corresponding membership by majority vote. The president notifies successful candidates of their election. Election of a corresponding member is to be considered each year, and held if warranted, provided the election will not increase the number of corresponding members beyond two (2) percent of the dues-paying membership. Membership is required for this award.

More information

Professor emeritus Ian Max Møller
Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, Aarhus University
ian.max.moller@mbg.au.dk - Mobile: +45 2087 2100