Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Elite Researcher Prize

The Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation’s major EliteForsk prizes are awarded to outstanding young researchers (under 45 years of age) who are in an international class of their own. The award amounts to DKK 1.2 million, of which DKK 200,000 is a personal prize of honour, and the remaining DKK 1 million goes to research activities. The prize was awarded for the first time in January 2007, and since then representatives from the royal family and ministers have awarded five awards each year.

The following researchers from the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics have been awarded the EliteForsk prize:

2014 - Daniel Otzeen

Daniel Erik Otzen (no. 1 from the left on the photo) is awarded the prize because he is an international capacity in his field in terms of research impact and invited talks. Daniel Otzen has an impressive publication activity, which has resulted in more than 200 scientific articles, which together have achieved nearly 4800 citations from researchers around the world.

Read more.

2008 - Poul Nissen

Poul Nissen (no. 2 from the left on the photo) was awarded EliteForsk Prize for his extensive scientific production, published in internationally recognised and leading journals. His articles altogether received more than 4,000 citations. He is also highly committed to research and is head of the research programme at the Department of Molecular Biology.

Read more.