Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

The Carlsberg Foundation's Research Prize

Each year, the Carlsberg Foundation awards two major prizes to researchers who have made a crucial contribution to basic research: one in the field of natural sciences and one in the field of either humanities or social sciences.

The Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes were instituted in 2011 to mark the bicentenary of the birth of founder J.C. Jacobsen. Each prize of DKK 1 million is awarded on the recommendation of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.

Excellent research

The objective of the Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes is to support two active researchers, in Denmark or abroad, who have made crucial contributions to basic research and enjoy widespread scientific recognition. Each prizewinner receives DKK 1 million; DKK 250,000 for personal use and DKK 750,000 to help fund a research project. The prizes are intended to encourage further research and the money may be spent as needed on international studies, fieldwork, laboratory equipment or remuneration for scientific assistance.

Read more

Poul Nissen - 2018

Poul Nissen receives the Carlsberg Foundation Research Prize for his groundbreaking work in structural biology. The prize was given by HRH the Crown Princess, Minister of Higher Education and Science, Tommy Ahlers, and chairman of the Carlsberg Foundation, Flemming Besenbacher, as part of the annual banquet at the New Carlsberg Glyptotek on Sunday 2 September 2018.  

Read more