Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

The Novo Nordisk Prize

The Novo Nordisk Prize is given annually to recognize unique medical research or other research contributions that benefit medical science. The Prize is awarded for a predominantly Danish contribution. A Prize Committee under the Novo Nordisk Foundation awards the Prize.

The Prize is  accompanied by DKK 3 million – of which DKK 2.5 million is available for research purposes within the Prize winner’s research field and DKK 500,000 is a personal award.

Jørgen Kjems -  2018

Jørgen Kjems, professor at the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics and iNANO, receives the Novo Nordisk Prize 2018 for his interdisciplinary pioneering studies of how the DNA's biological cousin, RNA, plays a key role in cell regulation and has a huge potential in future disease treatment. .  

Read more 

Poul Nissen - 2017

Poul Nissen, Professor at Aarhus University, is receiving the 2017 Novo Nordisk Prize for his pioneering studies of the structure and function of ion pumps. Through his research, Poul Nissen has clarified in detail, among other things, how ions and nutrients are transported into and out of cells. This fundamental knowledge is very significant for understanding life processes and in combating disease.

Read more