Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Young Elite Researcher - Sapere Aude

Sapere Aude is a research career programme that aims to develop the skills of the most talented researchers, nationally and internationally. The aim is to create career paths and keep hold of the most talented young researchers. 

2019 - Peter Refsing Andersen

With a grant of almost DKK 6.2 mio. from the Independent Research Fund Denmark’s Sapere Aude programme, Peter Refsing Andersen will uncover the strategies used by DNA parasites to evade the genomic defence mechanisms. It is the aim that these genetic studies will improve our biological and medical insight and treatment.  

Read more

2015 - Frederik Teilfeldt Hansen

2015 - Frederik Teilfeldt Hansen

The Danish Council for Independent Research has awarded a Sapere Aude grant to Frederik T. Hansen amounting to more than DKK 500,000. Frederik intends to determine the structure of the mega-enzyme cyclosporin synthetase, which is capable of producing the immunosuppressive agent cyclosporine, which is used for organ transplantations. Frederik Teilfeldt Hansen is at the very back (with a beard).

2014 - Bjørn Panyella Pedersen

Sapere Aude: DFF-research leaders with Chairman of the Board Peter Munk Christiansen and Minister of Research Sofie Carsten Nielsen. Bjørn Panyella Pedersen: front row, no. two from the right.

With a Sapere Aude Starting Grant of more than DKK 7 million from the Danish Council for Independent Research, Bjørn P. Pedersen is assured of the best possible chance to return to Denmark and establish a structural biology research group at Aarhus University.

Mechanisms behind cholesterol and sugar uptake

Dr Pedersen’s research focuses on two aspects of human food ingestion. He and his new research group at the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics will initially study how the body absorbs cholesterol from the small intestine. In large amounts, cholesterol can lead to cardiovascular diseases, but it is absolutely essential in moderate amounts for a well-functioning body. Absorption of cholesterol into the body’s circulation takes place in the small intestine, aided by a protein (a ‘nanomachine’) called NPC1L1.

2013 - Eva Arnspang Christensen

The Danish Council for Independent Research | Natural Sciences (FNU) has awarded a prestigious Sapere Aude Young Elite Researcher Prize valued at DKK 2.245 million to Postdoctoral Fellow Eva Arnspang Christensen (36), Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, for her research project ‘Aquaporin assembly and regulation: studied by super-resolution imaging and single protein tracking’.

2013 - Maria Andreasen

The Danish Council for Independent Research | Natural Sciences (FNU) has awarded Maria Andreasen a prestigious Sapere Aude Young Elite Researcher Prize for her research project entitled: “Caught in the act – Identifying primary nucleation events for fibrillating proteins.””

2011 - Ebbe Sloth Andersen

Ebbe Sloth Andersen was one of the researchers responsible for the ‘DNA nano-box’, which attracted enormous attention a couple of years ago and was voted the best scientific discovery of the year by readers of the Danish newspaper Politiken. His research project is called ‘Nanoscale measuring device assembled by DNA for detecting small molecules and disease signals’. The major challenge of this project is designing a complex nanoscale measuring device that consists of DNA, RNA, protein and chemical combinations, so that it automatically self-assembles for high-quality, fully functional biosensors.

2011 - Nick Stub Laursen

The Danish Council for Independent Research has awarded a Young Elite Researcher Prize to Postdoctoral Scholar Nick Stub Laursen to develop a universal influenza vaccine, so that it will no longer be necessary to be vaccinated with a new vaccine every year.

Postdoctoral Fellow Kasper Røjkjær Andersen awarded Young Researcher Prize

Kasper Røjkjær Andersen, who is currently a postdoctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, in the laboratory of Dr Thomas U. Schwartz, gets DKK 1.89 million for this research. Completed his PhD under the supervision of Ditlev E. Brodersen.