Aarhus University Seal

Bjørn Panyella Pedersen receives ST Science Award 2015

Every year in June, ST selects six people to receive an award in recognition of their great efforts – generally and during the year that has passed – and Bjørn Panyella Pedersen from the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics receives ST Science Award.

Bjørn Panyella Pedersen (Photo: Lisbeth Heilesen)
Four recipients of ST Awards 2015 together with the dean. Pictured from left are Peter Frank Tehrani (ST Education Award 2015), Dean Niels Chr. Nielsen, Inga Jensen Mumm (ST TAP Award 2015), Esben Auken (ST Industrial Collaboration Award 2015) and Bjørn Panyella Pedersen (ST Science Award 2015). Mie Birkbak (ST Talent Award 2015) was on a research period abroad. (Photo: Peter Gammelby, ST Communication).

The ST Science Award 2015 goes to Assistant Professor Bjørn Panyella Pedersen, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics.

Bjørn Panyella Pedersen is one of the most rapidly rising stars in our ‘sky of talent’. He exhibited his talent while studying for his PhD degree, when his work resulted in the publication of two articles in Nature and the award of the Lundbeck Foundation’s Talent Prize.

Following a period in California, he decided to return to Aarhus University last year, where he created – in an exemplary manner – good opportunities for setting up his own research group via a Sapere Aude Research Leader Grant of DKK 7 million, a three-year AIAS Fellowship and finally a prestigious ERC Starting Grant from the European Research Council valued at DKK 11 million altogether.

Bjørn has just been selected as a 2015 DuPont Young Professor and has been nominated as a member to the Young Academy under the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.

The six prizes are awarded in different areas, and each one consists of a diploma and the sum of DKK 10,000. The six prizes are: