Aarhus University Seal

Researchers from Aarhus University participate in the award of the Nobel Prize

Two Danish researchers - Ditlev E. Brodersen and Poul Nissen from the Department of Molecular Biology, Aarhus University - are currently in Stockholm to participate in the award of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009.

The two Danish researchers with their mentors who receive the Nobel Prize in Chemistry today.

The Nobel Laureates Venkatraman Ramakrishnan from Cambridge, England, Thomas A. Steitz from Yale University, USA, and Ada E. Yonath from the Weizmann Institute, Israel, share this year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the identification of the three-dimensional structure of the cell's protein factory, the ribosome - as well as for the studies of the functioning of important antibiotics.

Associate Professor Ditlev E. Brodersen and Professor Poul Nissen are today Thursday 10th December to be found among the few invitees when the Swedish King awards the Nobel Prize in Stockholm to the Nobel Prize winners. The two Danish researchers have carried out central parts of the work that led to the nomination of Ramakrishnan and Steitz for the Nobel Prize, and it is therefore natural to find them among the few who received this honourful invitation. The total programme of the Nobel laureates lasts several weeks, and includes - in addition to the welcome reception, Nobel lecture and award ceremony - visits to embassies and several Swedish universities.

Poul Nissen, worked for three years (1997-2000) as a postdoc at Yale University, New Haven, USA, with Thomas A. Steitz, and Ditlev Brodersen worked for four years (1999-2003) as a postdoc in the laboratory of V. Ramakrishnan at Cambridge, England.

High-resolution photo (300 dpi)

Live web cast of the Nobeæ Prize Award Ceremony 2009 - Thursday 10 December 2009 at 16.30-18

The two Nobel Laureates lecture at Aarhus University

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009 is also celebrated in Denmark as Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz both have accepted an invitation from the Department of Molecular Biology at Aarhus University and The Danish Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology to give a lecture on Thursday 29th April 2010 in the Main Hall at Aarhus University.

Read also previous press release:

Contact Information

Associate Professor Ditlev Brodersen, Department of Molecular Biology, Aarhus University, email: deb@mb.au.dk, mobile +45 2711 8380.

Professor Poul Nissen, Department of Molecular Biology, Aarhus University, pn@mb.au.dk, mobile +45 2899 2295.